What’s the Difference?

The vegetable cellulose used is Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose or HPMC for short. Our HPMC comes from the bark of the pine and spruce trees.

Gelatin, which is commonly used as the base in jellies, comes from bovine (cattle) or pigs. 

 

Supplements are a common part of peoples lives. A lot of people looking for empty capsules want to make their own supplements. By making your own supplements using gelatin or vegetarian capsules you get to control the whole process. You can create your own custom formulas, hide bad tasting medications or herbs and save money whole you’re at it.

The Two Types of Capsules

At this point there are two different kinds of capsules, gelatin based capsules and vegetarian based capsules. Capsules can either be soft gels or hard, but when filling your own you want to look for hard capsules. The capsules will snap closed shut to ensure it keeps the substance in the capsule without spilling out.

Here are some of the great benefits that capsules carry:

  • Quick dissolving, meaning your medicine gets into your system faster
  • Often tasteless
  • Easy to swallow when compared to tablets
  • No extra added ingredients to hold the pill together
  • Choice of Gelatin Capsules or Vegetarian Capsules

Gelatin Capsules

Despite the fact that both types of capsules look the same, there are some drastic differences between the two. The most notable difference is what they are each made of.

Gelatin, which is commonly used as the base in jellies, comes from bovine (cattle) or pigs. At Herb Affair, we strictly use bovine as the source of our gelatin capsules.

Gelatin is made through a process that involves boiling down certain parts of the cattle. The hoofs, bones, and connective tissue is boiled down until it is a gel like substance, and then allowed to cool and expand in cool water. When the process is finished all that is left is a tasteless, odorless, and colorless substance that can be formed into the gel capsules that are taken every day by consumers.

There are a few main advantages of taking gel caps. Gelatin does have a wide range of health benefits. Most notably are the improvements in skin and joint health. They are also generally less expensive than their vegetarian counterparts.

Vegetarian Capsules

The alternate to these kinds of capsules are vegetarian capsules. These types of capsules are used by forming vegetable cellulose. The vegetable cellulose used is Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose or HPMC for short. Our HPMC comes from the bark of the pine and spruce trees. The trees are sourced from Southwestern United States as well as in the Mediterranean Region.

It is a great way for people who would like a vegetarian alternative to gelatin capsules. Veg capsules will still provide a quality hard shelled capsule that is tasteless and odorless.

Vegetarian capsules are perfect for people who cannot consume gelatin for any religious, cultural or dietary reasons.